Английская Википедия:Captain Avery Museum

Материал из Онлайн справочника
Перейти к навигацииПерейти к поиску

Шаблон:Short description Шаблон:Infobox NRHP

The Captain Avery Museum is a historic home and museum at Shady Side, Anne Arundel County, Maryland, United States. It is a two-story frame building, located on a Шаблон:Convert rectangular lot. The house overlooks the West River and Chesapeake Bay. The two-story historic structure originally was the residence of the Chesapeake Bay waterman, Capt. Salem Avery, and was constructed about 1860. It was expanded in the nineteenth century and further expanded in the 1920s by the National Masonic Fishing and Country Club.[1] The property consists of the main house with additions, three sheds formerly used as bath houses, and a modern boathouse built in 1993 that features the Edna Florence, a locally-built 1937 Chesapeake Bay deadrise workboat.

It was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2005.[2]

The museum, originally called the Captain Salem Avery House Museum, was founded in 1984 by the Shady Side Rural Heritage Society as a local history museum. The names of the Society and the museum were changed in 2015. Currently, the Captain Avery Museum is owned and operated by a nonprofit organization, Captain Avery Museum, Inc.

References

Шаблон:Reflist

External links

Шаблон:Museums in Maryland Шаблон:National Register of Historic Places in Maryland Шаблон:Authority control


Шаблон:AnneArundelCountyMD-NRHP-stub Шаблон:Maryland-museum-stub

  1. Шаблон:Cite web
  2. Ошибка цитирования Неверный тег <ref>; для сносок nris не указан текст